Associates

Our financial representatives are the face of our organization. They not only represent Northwestern Mutual's Skokie office, but they also represent the best interests of their clients. We are proud of their accomplishments, share in their enthusiasm and drive, and help motivate them to achieve the highest level of excellence.

 
 Alan L Nero

Alan L Nero

Financial Representative
alan.nero@nm.com

 
 Alex Freund

Alex Freund, CFP®, CLU®

Disability Income Specialist
alex.freund@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn Facebook

Alex Freund grew up in the Chicago area. He joined Northwestern Mutual in 1989.  In 2004, Alex became the Disability Income Specialist for Northwestern Mutual in Skokie.

Alex lives in Northbrook, Illinois, with his wife, Susan, and children, Ilana, Adam, and Jenna. He enjoys exercise, golf, and travel.

Alex is on the Board of Directors of the Center for Enriched Living in Riverwoods, IL - a social and recreational center for those with developmental disabilities.

 
 Alex Shibicky

Alex Shibicky, CLU®, ChFC®

Financial Advisor
alex.shibicky@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn

 
 Beth E Burnson

Beth E Burnson, CFA®, CLU®

Financial Advisor
beth.burnson@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn

 
 Bradford T Graham

Bradford T Graham, CLU®, RHU®, CLTC

Financial Representative
bradford.graham@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn

 
 Bradley A Nieder

Bradley A Nieder

Financial Advisor
bradley.nieder@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn

 
 Dan Ford Castino

Dan Ford Castino, ChFC®, CLU®

Wealth Management Advisor
daniel.castino@nm.com

Dan Castino has been a part of the financial services industry for over twenty years. He is a distinguished Wealth Management Advisor who has a breadth and depth of knowledge and experience.  Dan provides advice to clients on an individual basis.

Dan is a lifelong resident of Chicago’s North Shore, where he lives with his wife, Heidi, and his five children Ford, Cody, Chandler, Sandra and Maxine. When time allows, he loves to snow and water ski and enjoys nothing more than a round out on the golf course.

 
 David John Morton

David John Morton

Financial Representative
david.morton@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn

 
 David Joseph Poznanski

David Joseph Poznanski, CLU®

Financial Representative
david.poznanski@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn Facebook

David Poznanski has been with Northwestern Mutual for over 16 years.  He works with many professional athletes, including members of the Chicago Bulls and the Chicago Bears.

David lives in Mt. Prospect with his wife, Joan, and their children.

 
 Derek S Peterson

Derek S Peterson, CFP®, CRPS

Wealth Management Advisor
derek.peterson@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn Facebook

Derek Peterson graduated from Drake University in 1993 with a B.B.A. in finance.  In 1994, he started working for Robert W. Baird & Company, Inc. He moved on to Northwestern Mutual in 2003.

Derek and his wife Jennifer have two daughters and currently reside in between Roscoe Village and Logan Square neighborhoods of Chicago. Prior to his current residence, Derek spent time growing up in Brookfield, Wisconsin in addition to Moline, Peoria, and St. Charles, Illinois. In his free time, Derek enjoys playing and watching competitive soccer and traveling with his family.

 
 Gary W Kaufman

Gary W Kaufman

Financial Representative
gary.kaufman@nm.com

 
 Grant D Gier

Grant D Gier, CLU®, ChFC®, CFP®

Estate & Business Planning Specialist
grant.gier@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn Facebook

Grant Gier has been associated with Northwestern Mutual in Skokie since 1986. As our Estate and Business Planning Specialist, Grant assists clients with estate, business and executive benefit planning needs.

 
 Ira E Graham

Ira E Graham, CPA, CLU®, ChFC®

Financial Representative
ira.graham@nm.com

Ira Graham graduated with a bachelor of science degree from the Illinois Institute of Technology in 1950.  He also received his M.B.A. from the University of Chicago, School of Business in 1974.  Ira began working for Northwestern Mutual in 1951.  In 1983, Ira had his first publication titled “A Quantitative Examination of Whole Life Insurance in Qualified Plans for Professional Corporations”.

Ira has three children, Leslie, Doug and Brad.  Ira served our country as a Quartermaster in the US Navy from 1944-1946.  He also held the title of Yo-Yo Champion in 1940.

 
 James P Connelly

James P Connelly

Financial Representative
james.connelly@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn Facebook

 
 Jon Adams

Jon Adams

Financial Representative
jon.adams@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn

 
 Joseph R Burden

Joseph R Burden, CLU®, ChFC®

Financial Representative
joseph.burden@nm.com

Joseph R. Burden graduated from the University of Illinois (Urbana) with a Bachelor's degree in Economics. He has been with Northwestern Mutual since 1975.

 
 Joshua S Lerner

Joshua S Lerner, CFP®, CLU®


josh.lerner@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn Facebook

Josh graduated from Southern Methodist University in 1997 with a Broadcast Journalism degree.  Josh began his career with Northwestern Mutual in 2001 after spending 3 years trading futures at the Chicago Mercantile Exchange.  Josh has his Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU®) Udesignation and a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNERTM (CFP®) certification.  He lives in Chicago with his wife Kelly and their 2 boys, Elias and Pax.

 
 Keith Spengel

Keith Spengel, CLU®, CLTC, CFP®

Financial Advisor
keith.spengel@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn

Keith Spengel started his career with Northwestern Mutual as a college intern at the University of Iowa and became a full-time Financial Representative in 1990.

Keith, his wife Trish, and their two sons live in McHenry, IL.

 
 Kenneth A Fox

Kenneth A Fox, J.D.

Financial Advisor
ken.fox@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn Facebook

Ken Fox earned his business degree from Michigan St. University and continued on to get his Juris Doctor degree from the Syracuse University College of Law.  Ken worked for Robert W. Baird & Company, Inc. for 18 years and served as the senior vice president and financial advisor.  He joined Northwestern Mutual's Skokie office in 2003.

Ken lives in Buffalo Grove with his wife, Rosalyn, and their two teenage daughters.

 
 Kyle Morgan Smith

Kyle Morgan Smith, CFP®, CLU®, RICP®

Financial Representative
kyle.smith@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn

 
 Laurie A. Leja

Laurie A. Leja, CLTC

Financial Representative
laurie.leja@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn

Laurie Leja graduated from the University of Minnesota with a degree that emphasized marketing, speech, and journalism.  She started her career with Northwestern Mutual in 1991.

Laurie is married to her husband, Walter, and lives in Mt. Prospect with their two children, Andrew and Alicia.  She is also an advocate of children with hearing losses.

 
 Martin E Glickman

Martin E Glickman, CLU®, ChFC®, CLTC

Long Term Care Specialist
marty.glickman@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn

Marty Glickman received his B.A. in political science from Knox College.  He has been with Northwestern Mutual since 1980.  In 2006 Marty became the network office's Long-Term Care Specialist.

Marty and his wife, Cathy, reside in Vernon Hills.  They have two children, Carly and Joel.  Marty’s hobbies include traveling, running and baseball.

 
 Marty Kopach Jr

Marty Kopach Jr, CPA, CLU®, CFP®

Financial Representative
marty.kopach@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn

Marty Kopach graduated from Butler University in 1997 with a degree in accounting.  After graduating he became a full-time Financial Representative for Northwestern Mutual.

Marty grew up in Lake Forest with his parents and brother, Steve, but has lived in Chicago for seven years.  He enjoys running, golfing and playing poker.

 
 Michael J Gotta

Michael J Gotta

Financial Representative
michael.gotta@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn

 
 Richard M Perlin

Richard M Perlin

Retirement Plan Specialist
richard.perlin@nm.com

Retirement and Pension Specialist

 
 Rocco LaMantia

Rocco LaMantia

Financial Representative
rocco.lamantia@nm.com

 
 Thomas G McBreen

Thomas G McBreen, CLU®, CFP®


thomas.mcbreen@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn

Tom McBreen started his career in 1996 after graduating with a Finance Degree from Miami University of Ohio.  Tom has his Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU®) designation and a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™ (CFP®) certification.  He lives in Winnetka Illinois with his wife Kate and three daughters.

 

 
 Timothy George Hender

Timothy George Hender, CFP®, CLTC

Wealth Management Advisor
tim.hender@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn Facebook

Tim Hender has devoted his career to risk management. He worked 20 years in the equity options business as a Market Maker on the floors of CBOE and American Stock Exchange in NYC.

He is now a Wealth Management Advisor for Northwestern Mutual. The mission of his team is to help successful people create peace of mind by helping them prepare for the future.

Tim is a longtime resident of Lake Forest, where he lives with his wife Alana and their three kids. When time allows he loves to golf and sail with his family.

 
 Ulises Ruelas

Ulises Ruelas

Financial Representative
ulises.ruelas@nm.com

 
 William S Tippet

William S Tippet, CLU®, ChFC®

Annuity Specialist
will.tippet@nm.com

My Networks: LinkedIn

Will has been a Financial Representative since 1987. He is currently an Investment Specialist with Northwestern Mutual in Skokie, specializing in wealth accumulation and investment products.

Careers

Northwestern Mutual financial representatives have the opportunity to determine their own financial futures while making an impact on others.

Learn More arrow

Looking for a career that allows flexibility and exceptional income potential? Do you want top-notch training, mentorship and resources? Have you been searching for a company that demonstrates a commitment to diversity and giving back to the community?

Take The First Steplearn more arrow

#1 in the Financial Services Industry

- Selling Power's "50 Best Companies to Sell for Now." October 2016

Top Ten Internship for 21 Straight Years

- Vault Guide to Internships, 2017 edition

50 year anniversary banner
 

To learn more about Northwestern Mutual Investment Services, LLC and its financial representatives, visit: FINRA BrokerCheck